Meeting Anglo-Saxons

Anglo-Saxon Day

I met some Anglo-Saxons today at the museum. They were from a group called Weorod. I wore my Anglo-Saxon dress that my Mummy had made me.

DSC_0460

They showed me how the Anglo-Saxons lived 1600 years ago.

They had a replica helmet of the Sutton Hoo helmet and I helped to make a panel out of metal.

DSC_0442

I placed the metal piece over the design and hammered over it.

DSC_0443

DSC_0444

Once it was done, I had a piece that could be made into a helmet.

DSC_0446

I saw the types of foods that the Anglo-Saxons would eat.

DSC_0463

DSC_0454

DSC_0452

DSC_0451

I ground some grains with a quern stone.

DSC_0456

I saw the lady making ribbon on a hand loom. They would use this as a border for their clothes.

DSC_0448

They could change the design of the ribbon, by twisting the pegs.

DSC_0449

They also made glass beads.

DSC_0450

Then I had a go with the Anglo-Saxon weaponry!

DSC_0464

DSC_0459

If you would like to meet these Anglo-Saxons, you can find out more about them on their website:

http://www.weorod.org

Leave a Reply

