Revenge of Stonehenge!

Revenge of Stonehenge!

(Ha! – I love alliteration!)

sh_hold

Today I used my English Heritage Press Pass (!) to go and visit Stonehenge. I never really wanted to go to Stonehenge at first but it turns out that it is GREAT! And it is not just a pile of stones!

IMG_0569

We parked by the new visitor centre (which was awesome) and got the little bus to the stones. It was only a 5 minute journey. Before though, I picked up a Horrible Histories Audio Guide.

IMG_1761

When you walk along the path beside Stonehenge, there are numbers on signs as you go along. You press this number on your audio guide and it tells you some facts about Stonehenge. I especially like the bit when there would be a funny sound on the audio and it would say “Grown-ups, Stop listening now!”, and I would have to listen and tell my grown-ups afterwards.

IMG_1770

When I got up close to Stonehenge I could see how big they were.

IMG_1784

IMG_1776

They think that they were a bronze age calendar. On the longest and shortest days of the year, the sun will rise between the largest stones.

IMG_1780

IMG_1781

The stones came all the way from Wales.

On some of the stones we could see a ‘pip’ like a Lego brick that helps the stones stay together.

IMG_1783

Nearby we could see many barrows on the landscape.

IMG_0528

IMG_0522

After we walked around the stones, we took the bus back to the visitor centre and Mat showed us around the museum. He was brilliant and gave us as many facts about Stonehenge as he could in 3 minutes!

Inside the museum, you can stand inside a circular room when they shine the stones on the walls so it is like you are within Stonehenge. It was really cool.

Then we went outside to the re-created Durrington Walls Village, which was really good.

IMG_0556

IMG_1797

IMG_1795

I was a bit tired so I had a lie down!

IMG_1798

IMG_1799

Then I tried to pull one of the large stones but I couldn’t do it!

Then we went into the cafe and my Mummy bumped into her friend, Honey!

IMG_1800

They took a selfie!

I realise that you can’t have too many pictures of Stonehenge, so here we go!

sh_soft

sh_easter

One thought on “Revenge of Stonehenge!

Leave a Reply

